Breakfast and Brunch, Dinner, Meatpacking District

Little Goat Diner

Little Goat Diner

Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Neighborhood: Meatpacking District
Address: 820 West Randolph Street, Chicago, Illinois 60607
Phone Number: (312) 888-3455
Website

Price Range: $9-15
Our Rating: 4.8 out of 5

IMG_3300

coffee, tea, or me?

IMG_3305

the spanish omelette

a latte love and an apricot muffin

a latte love and an apricot muffin

the fat elvis

the fat elvis

What We Tried: Spanish Omelette, Kimchee & Bacon & Eggs & Pancake Asian Style Tasty Thing, Fat Elvis Waffle, Parathas Burrito, Corned Beef Hash and Eggs, Fall Harvest Chicken Salad

Our Take: I don’t think I could say a negative word about the Girl & the Goat franchise if I tried. You could maybe bribe me with a cranberry pepita scone or a Grumy Goat Golden Raisin Bagel, but, still—it would be hard.

Another brainchild of Stephanie Izard (first female champion of Top Chef and James Beard award winner), Little Goat Diner opened two years after its sister restaurant across the street, Girl & the Goat. It’s a little (goat) more casual, a little easier to get in, but just as innovative.

On a sunny Saturday outing with my favorite brunching betches, I tried the Parathas Burrito, a flavorful combination of sunny-side eggs and a spicy chili sauce, served on India flatbread with a cooling avocado relish.

Just for fun, a few of us ordered the house bloody mary, which, according to my friends who are bloody mary experts, (are we too young to be bloody mary experts?), was “kickass.” I don’t remember the last time I ordered a bloody mary, but I remembered I didn’t like it. At Little Goat, though, I loved it. And the rest of my Saturday was extremely productive, too!

While my brother was visiting over Thanksgiving weekend, we went back to Little Goat for lunch. Feeling the post-Thanksgiving food baby, I got the salad. But hey, it was awesome! Grilled chicken, butternut squash, kale, ginger maple dressing, all of my favorite things, etc.

Andrew went with the Fat Elvis Waffle, an absolute masterpiece composed of two waffles, topped with maple-bacon syrup, peanut butter sauce, and sliced bananas. Now, this is the kid who polished off four slices of stuffed sausage pizza in one sitting and then ran a ‘casual’ 6:55 pace 8k the next day, but even Andrew couldn’t finish the Fat Elvis. It’s the kind of dish that’s better if someone else at the table orders it…you can appreciate the few bites you sneak off their plate, but not have to worry about too much of a good thing, ya know?

-Carolyn

goat groupies

goat groupies

Standard

Leave a Reply

